Nobel Conference

Jess Harren, Meagan Wanecke, Kayla Ingbretson, Henrik Reisvang, Frank Thao


The Nobel Conference began in 1963 at Gustavus Adolphus College. The conference was designed with the intention of bringing important issues to the attention of students and other interested adults.  Not only does the conference highlight different issues, but it also engages the panelists with the audience in order to discuss the moral and social implications of the topics. There have been many Nobel Prize winners who have spoken at the Conference, including Glenn Seaborg, Philip Hench, and Sir John Eccies.

On May 4, 1963, the hall of science on GAC campus was dedicated as the Nobel hall of Science.  The opening dedication ceremony included 26 Nobel prize winners (pictured below). Along that group of men,  Vice President Humphrey and other politicians were in attendance.


1965-1969 Nobel Conferences

1970-1979 Nobel Conferences

1980-1989 Nobel Conferences

1990-1999 Nobel Conferences

2000-2009 Nobel Conferences


This site highlights the past 5 decades that Nobel has been happening and discusses the progression of technology and topics.